top of page

Sex-Ed. My newsletter article.


I had to educate a 19 year old and a 20 year old on the reason why you use a condom. They thought it was to make sure they didn't get pregnant. (This is a couple I'm talking about) I told them that it isn't 100% pregnancy proof and they referred ME to the internet. After a long conversation, I had to tell them that they're adults and can make their own decisions, but if you want to be 100% safe, you use a condom AND contraception pills.

Next thing I know I get asked if my doctor would prescribe the pill for his girlfriend because she was afraid to ask her parents... In this day and age? But it happens. Religious reasons or others', I don't care, when I'm asked, I do it. I was told by them that according to the INTERNET the pill works from the first day it's taken. Now I knew that that wasn't true, but when you look it up, it does mention it in large print on the first search result. Youngsters these days take all this stuff for the big giant truth. Again, I told them it takes 3 months and the doctor confirmed this. Did they wait to have sex? I don't know, I know that I was asked about the morning after pill, about why her period was late, about pregnancy tests. Let me tell you, I gave all this information without blushing, and the 20 year old was my stepson and the 19 year old, his girlfriend from another country staying over for the first time. I was thought how to put on a condom by my mom at the age of 12 and both me and my sister were on the pill from the moment we got our period. Not only for contraception, but also because I had a bad case of PMS and acne.

I taught my stepson, together with my husband, how to correctly use a condom, and showing him on a banana, when he was about 15. A bit late? Probably, but I wasn't in his life that long yet, and it was upon my insistence that we did that. In school they get taught about the reproductive system, about STD's and they give them each a condom, which the guys blow up and use as balloons (eye-roll). They're all 12 and unless you sit them down and talk to them one on one, they'll be too shy to pay attention and giggle, or make fun of things.

My point: Be open about condoms, the pill, and sex, with any kids in your vicinity. Let them know they can talk about it with you. Sneak a box of condoms into your son's room if you can't talk about it. Ask your daughter if she wants to sit down and talk about first time sex. For God's sake, if you're following this newsletter, I'm sure you won't be too shy about sex. But don't hesitate to walk around the house naked if you need to get something. If one of the kids gasps, don't make a big deal out of it. Just ignore them. They need to be as comfortable with their body as you are. If you don't have kids: nieces and nephews might need someone else, other then their parents, to talk to. Be open about it, and most important of all, DON'T make fun of it all. It's serious business, but it's not taboo. I'm open about it all, but was still surprised that my step-son came to me to ask about getting the contraception pill for his girlfriend, who later asked me to explain it, and that if it didn't work from the first day, and he hadn't washed his hands after taking the condom off, if that could be a problem. Do I think this situation is weird? Of course! Am I glad they trust me enough to ask? Hell, yeah! Why? Neither one has a job and I'm too young to be a grandma!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page